Di Grassi clinches first season victory in historic Swiss race

Reigning champion Lucas di Grassi climbed from fifth on the grid to secure his first win of the 2017/18 ABB FIA Formula E Championship and mark a momentous victory on the return of circuit racing to Switzerland in over six decades.

The Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler driver stood on the top of the podium at the Julius Baer Zurich E-Prix and became the first winner of a single-seater race in Switzerland since Juan Manuel Fangio in Bremgarten in 1954.

Di Grassi made his move during the first stint of the race after narrowly missing out on super pole in qualifying. The Brazilian picked off the leading pack one-by-one over the course of the opening period of the race – crucially taking the lead from Mitch Evans approaching the mid-race car swaps and held station to the chequered flag.

DS Virgin Racing’s Sam Bird kept his championship hopes alive with second place and a sixth podium finish of the season. Bird started the race as the only realistic contender to table-topper Jean-Eric Vergne and needed desperately to reduce the 40-point gap.